My ideal man

January 23, 2012

A friend just asked me what I’m looking for in a guy. This quote is from one of my favorite books, Little Bee, and sums it up perfectly for me.

“I think my ideal man would speak many languages. He would speak Ibo and Yoruba and English and French and all of the others. He could speak with any person, even the soldiers, and if there was violence in their heart he could change it. He would not have to fight, do you see? Maybe he would not be very handsome, but he would be beautiful when he spoke. He would be very kind, even if you burned his food because you were laughing and talking with your girlfriends instead of watching the cooking. He would just say, ‘Ah, never mind’.”

4 Responses to “My ideal man”


  1. Sounds like a girl… not a man.

    • simpleimperfectionist Says:

      Hmmm. So I was listened to this song in the car this morning, “Don’t stop believin’. Hold onto that feeeeeeling.” Perfect timing haha. 🙂

  2. Nadine Melania Says:

    wow! I see much of this in your dad, except Gary is very handsome 🙂
    Dad often becomes best friends immediately with all types. As far as me burning the food- wouldn’t matter to him either! He’d be even happy with toasted bread for dinner. Hee hee

    • simpleimperfectionist Says:

      Aaaaaaaaaaaaaand that’s the reason you’ve been married 30 years. You’re perfect for each other. 🙂


Leave a Reply

