Last night I got so wasted

January 1, 2012

*I wrote this after hearing similar stories from immigrant friends.

Tonight was like every other night. After spending several hours at the local bar, I stumbled up the stairs, pushed open the door and fell onto the cold, hard floor.

So wasted.

Tonight was like every other night. I could still hear the clinking of beer bottles while friends closed the end of another mundane day.  As more alcohol was poured, the laughter, conversations and music echoed louder.

So wasted.

Tonight was like every other night. My head throbbed. My feet were sore. My body ached. Night after night after night after night after night after night after night of this.

So wasted.

Tonight was like every other night. Lying there on the unforgiving floor of the one-bedroom apartment I shared with six guys, I remembered my last day in Colombia. The night before my journey to the US I promised my mom, “I’ll find a good job, make some money and I’ll come back soon.” She told me she loved me and would pray for me. I wanted to make her proud, but now… if she could only see me.

So wasted.

Tonight was like every other night. I curled up on the floor and looked down at my calloused hands. They worked hard today. Refilling drinks, clearing plates, wiping tables, washing dishes, refilling drinks, clearing plates, wiping tables, washing dishes, refilling drinks, clearing plates, wiping tables, washing dishes.

So wasted.

Tonight was like every other night. I looked down at my hands and remembered the dreams I had for them. When I was four I wanted them to be pilot hands. When I was sixteen I wanted them to be doctor hands. When I was 27 I wanted them to be hands holding my daughter.

These hands, they are mine, they are talented, they hunger for more, they search for knowledge, they want to be challenged, they soak up excitement, they crave the human touch, they beg to be used for more than refilling, clearing, wiping and washing. These hands are being wasted.

So wasted.

These hands can provide more than cheap labor for this country. Give them a chance to go to college so I can pursue my goals. Give them a chance to love fiercely. Give them a chance to live freely.

Give these hands a chance to experience life as yours do.

4 Responses to “Last night I got so wasted”

  1. Mary Sprunger-Froese Says:

    powerful, poignant. . .and poetic. . .
    thanks so much, Sarah. . .
    this needs to be heard and taken to heart and life,
    Mary S-F

    • simpleimperfectionist Says:

      Thanks, Mary! You are one of my friends who does hear and take it to heart and life which is beautiful.


  2. Sarah–wow, AMEN!! this is incredible…I have tears in my eyes just reading it…so powerful and true…el pueblo unido nunca sera vencido


Leave a Reply

